Meet the Team

The IVC2018 Organizing Committee (left to right): Emlyn, Anna, Ursula, Karin, Sarah, Kristofer (missing: Laura, Fien)

Meet the people behind the IVC 2018!

Kristofer G. Skaug – Host and Chairman of Organizing Committee

Born in Oslo (Norway), Kristofer Skaug works at the European Space Agency in Noordwijk as a Software Engineer and  project manager. In 2012 he became a
co-founding board member and web editor for the Dutch Viola Society, and since 2017 he has led the preparations for the IVC2018 in Rotterdam.
Normally (when he’s not organizing Viola Congresses), he plays the viola in various amateur orchestras and chamber music ensembles.
Kristofer shares a house with his carillon-playing wife, two viola-playing daughters and three cats.


Karin Dolman – Co-host and Artistic Leader

Karin Dolman studied violin and viola at the Rotterdam Conservatory (now known as Codarts) with Vaclav Novak and Henk Guittart. She had masterclasses with Bruno Giuranna and Flodor Druschinin and an intensive course with Kim Kashkashian. After her graduation she won prizes at the Tertis competition and the Brahms competition in Baden Baden. Together with pianist Caecilia Boschman she reached the final round of the international duo competition at Vierzon (France).

Karin Dolman is specialized in the interpretation of contemporary classical music. In the past 25 years she has gained extensive stage experience with the DoelenKwartet, the string quartet in residence at the Rotterdam Doelen concert hall. Karin Dolman plays a viola built by Jan van der Elst. Since September 2011, she teaches viola at the Codarts conservatory. In 2012, Karin became the (co-)founding President of the Dutch Viola Society.

Emlyn Stam – Fundraising

Violist Emlyn Stam is active as a chamber musician, soloist, orchestral musician and performance researcher in the Netherlands and throughout Europe. For seven years he was assistant principal violist of the Residentie Orkest in The Hague under Neeme Järvi. Other orchestral work has included appearances is as a guest principal with Philharmonia Orchestra, the BBC Welsh National Orchestra and the Toulon Opera. Emlyn Stam has made numerous appearances for Dutch radio and television, he has appeared as a soloist with the Amsterdam Symphony Orchestra, Orquestra d’Espinho (Portugal) and the Schönberg Ensemble. He has also performed at numerous festivals such as the Kuhmo Festival in Finland, Sound of Stockholm, Connect Festival, Giverny Chamber Music Festival, International Chamber Music Festival Utrecht and Grachtenfestival Amterdam. Chamber music performances have included concerts with the Parkanyi Quartet in the Concertgebouw and regular appearances with the Ysaÿe Trio, of which he is a founding member. The trio released their first CD in 2013 on the DRC label. Emlyn is a founding member of the New European Ensemble as well as the ensemble’s Artistic Coordinator.

Emlyn finished his Bachelor’s degree in June 2006 and his Master’s in September 2008 at the Royal Conservatory in The Hague having studied with Ferdinand Erblich and Vladimir Mendelssohn. Further studies have included masterclasses with Pinchas Zukerman, Michael Tree, Yuri Bashmet, Roberto Diaz, Tabea Zimmerman, Kim Kashkashian and Gerald Stanick. Emlyn also plays the Viola d’Amore.


Sarah Olieman – Production Manager

Sarah Olieman has several years of experience as producer for various institutions, events and festivals in the performing arts, including the Delft Chamber Music Festival, Codarts, Theatercollectief Macabre, Ciconia Consort and Festival aan de Maas. She holds a Bachelor’s degree in History from the University of Utrecht, and received her Master’s degree at the University of London Institute in Paris. She is an active amateur violist in the Rotterdam Student Orchestra, where she also assists with concert productions.

Anna Schenk – Treasurer

Anna joined our team this spring (2018), she is monitoring the financial well-being of this project. She works as a management assistant at Codarts Rotterdam, and did an internship for the VSB-fund and SNS REAAL Fund. She is an amateur violist and plays in a string quartet in her free time.



Ursula Skaug – Communication

Ursula Skaug received a broad musical education from an early age: besides violin and piano lessons, she was a member of the Musicanti children’s choir at the Academy of Vocal Arts in The Hague. She had her initial viola lessons with Julia Dinerstein at the Rotterdam Hellendaal Music Institute, and currently studies at the Royal Conservatoire in The Hague with Mikhail Zemtsov. Ursula had masterclasses with Isabelle van Keulen, Geneviève Strosser, Gavriel Lipkind and Nobuko Imai. She won prizes at the Maassluise Muziekweek, Britten Altvioolconcours and the Prinses Christina Concours, and had solo appearances with the Delft Symphony Orchestra, Britten Jeugd Strijkorkest and Concerto Grosso Rotterdam. Ursula plays on a viola built specially for her in 2017 by the Amsterdam-based luthier Daniël Royé. Since 2017 she is also active as Secretary of the DVS.

Fien Duijnmayer – Marketing and Public Relations

Fien Duijnmayer has a passion for music and culture. In 2012 she started her own company ‘Fien & Music’. With her work she wants to promote entrepeneurship in the cultural field and use her marketing skills to invite people to enjoy music as much as she does.




Laura Jonker – Volunteer Team Coordinator

Laura Jonker (1990) is a freelance producer and stage manager. She has studied musicology with a focus on contemporary classical music. She currently works at TivoliVredenburg in Utrecht, and has also worked at the International Franz Liszt Competition, the Grachtenfesival and with the Dudok Quartet Amsterdam. She plays the violin and is always looking to broaden her musical horizon.



Volunteers Team

During the congress, an army of almost 50 volunteers helped out with a zillion tasks. The true heroes of this congress!

  • Ada Bienfait

    “War room” snapshot with volunteer team – just before IVC2018 Kick-off

  • Saray Barrera Reyes
  • Rebecca Boersma
  • Jan Booy
  • Sofie Booy
  • Julian Brown-Priceman
  • Karina Carrillo
  • Júlia Casañas
  • Anastasia Cornovan
  • Josca van Duijvendijk
  • Rayén Estraviz Rey
  • Esther Fernandez Olalla
  • Surizadai Figueroa Lopez
  • Gert Floor
  • Bernard Foing
  • Anastasiia Gerasina
  • Antonina Goncharenko
  • Cristian David González Cáceres
  • Crista van de Graaf
  • Joop Hartog
  • Lea van der Heijden
  • Lauren Jack
  • Phaedra Kalogerakou
  • Liudmila Kharitonova
  • Marianne Klapwijk
  • Stephanie Lawrenson
  • Ana Magán-López
  • Carolina Mendoza
  • Nicolás Mendoza
  • Sophie Mettefeu
  • Gema Molina Jiménez
  • Jonas Meenderink
  • Marta Ocete Montoro
  • Oksana Mukosii
  • Mechteld Nije
  • Layan Nijem
  • Ezgi Özer
  • Verónica Pastor
  • Judith Peters
  • Eudora Price
  • Martha Roegholt
  • Annebeth Rosenboom
  • Maartje Rosmulder
  • Blanca Sanchez
  • Raquel Sánchez
  • Elena Santana de la Rosa
  • Marianna Skaug-Marras
  • Irina Svirina
  • Andrea Torres
  • Irene Vanjecek
  • Gerrita van der Veen
  • Isa Velasco
  • Mariona Vilalta.